How to lose 40lbs in 75 days

March 3, 2010 at 10:50 am (Everyday Living) (, , , , , , )

I never expected to lose that much in such a short time.  It was crazy unexpected so I decided to have myself checked to make sure that everything is okay.  And I’m glad to be A-Ok.

The doctor said that it’s not very ideal to lose that much in such a short time but what I did, in general, was healthy.  She just added that I shouldn’t be eating fruits as my main meal but only as an appetizer, dessert or snacks.

Just to give you an idea on what I did, see below.  Just take note of what the doctor said about the fruits J  And also note that I coupled this diet with my regular yoga session J

…. And buy a weighing scale so you get to monitor your progress (or regress!) on a daily basis!

Good luck!

First week:

I lost 10lbs on my first week.

I didn’t follow any diet plan but I just avoided a lot of things:

1.  softdrinks / iced tea

2.  snacks (huge sacrifice since I’m a big snack eater)

3.  sweets!  cakes, candies, gums, ice cream, desserts….

4.  cut down my rice intake

5.  cut down on my meat intake

But I ate the following:

  1. fruits!  never realized that they taste sooooo good! I love pomelo the most!
  2. gulay! veggies all you want!
  3. water water water… didn’t eat (para sa mga pilosopo hehe) but I mostly drink this liquid…. i love water in all its glory J
  4. boy bawang! my reward! but 1 small pack only every day J I just didn’t want to forget the taste of MSG and I wanted to put variety in what I eat J

Second week:

I lost another 10lbs. And this was the week that I realized that I was no longer a size XL or waist 38! But I had to stick to my available clothes since I felt that I’d be losing more in the next few weeks and it would be a waste to go on a shopping spree.

This time, I had a diet plan and I tried General Motors diet (Maan of JobStreet told me about this).

Read from the ‘net that General Motors (GM) prepared this diet plan for their employees to promote healthy living.  But some said that this was GM’s way of cutting down on their health insurance… you won’t need one if you are healthy, right?

For whatever reason it was designed for, I decided to use it.  If something promises you 10 to 17lbs of weight loss in a weeks’ time, would you refuse it!?!? Not me!

Here it is….

I didn’t drink alcohol for this week and I gulped a lot of water!

Day One All fruits except bananas.

Day Two All vegetables but I started my day with mashed potato (minus the gravy from KFC).

Day Three A mixture of fruits and vegetables.  No banana and potato.

Day Four 8 Bananas and 3 glasses of milk (non-fat). I combined this with Knorr Chicken Soup during lunch.

Day Five I ate beef and tomatoes! And increased my water intake.

Day Six Beef and vegetables.

Day Seven Brown rice and vegetables.  Plus mango juice from Fruitas.

Third to Eight weeks:

Losing weight became slow for the succeeding weeks.  I was mostly losing 1lb per day.  There were even times that I didn’t lose anything at all.  But in the next 6 weeks, I lost a total of 20lbs.

To be honest, I struggled with GM diet.  Thinking about it now, I was very amazed on how in the earth I did it.  So I decided to go back to my first week’s diet plan but replaced my white rice with either brown or red rice.  Also, I continued to avoid the list I mentioned above.  And, yes, boy bawang resurfaced in my daily reward J

All-in-all, I lost a total of 40lbs in 75 days!  And from XL, I am now mostly a Medium (sometimes L) and from size 38, I am mostly size 34 (or 33).

And I look different!  Some people say I look different bad but others say I look different good.  It’s okay.  It’s their opinion.  The most important for me, I think I look different good J And I feel different good.  I don’t get tired easily and I can play 3 sets of badminton without stopping.  Woot woot!

I think the most important lesson here is discipline and determination.  Discipline will keep you focused and determination will be your fuel to reach that objective.

Get fit and stay healthy!

38 Comments

  1. J. said,

    Ritchie, di ko masyadong makita difference sa before and after pictures mo haha…. ma-try nga tong diet na to, libre mo ko buffet pag di umepek ka… =)

  2. rightyritch said,

    wehhhh
    hahahahahaha
    buffet ka dyan
    sure buffet veggies tayo! let’s go!

  3. japz said,

    nag gym ka din ba???? lifting weight or cardio???

    • rightyritch said,

      hindi ako naggym nuong time na yun
      nag-yoga ako mga twice a week
      and i played badminton once or twice a week 🙂

  4. grace garcia said,

    panu po magpapayat? 57 to 58 kilos ako nung dumating sa germany ngaon po 65 nako ambilis ko tumaba kainis nga eh. ndi ko na masuot ung mga damit ko help me nmn hirap ndi kumain pag masarap ang pagkain..

    • rightyritch said,

      discipline lang
      focus
      sobrang control
      so kung may masarap na pagkain sa harap mo, ignore
      otherwise, well wala ka maaachieve 🙂

      • grace said,

        well thank u po sa advise. tanung ko lang panu makagawa ng blogsite anung website address.? tnx. anlakas ko nga din sa chocolates inubos ko na ata chocolate dito sa germany. pag uwi ko pinas boy bawang na lang kainin ko hehhe ligtas sa matamis.

  5. psychotic101 said,

    congrats! it’s still mostly discipline right? going to try your diet. The Yoga definitely contributed to your weight loss. I might replace that with Pilates but all in all, I hope I get results as good as yours. ks for sharing! Than^_^

  6. N.M said,

    What wud u recommend a 17 yr old who is 5’9 tall but 90 kilos ? I still go to school/college that might affect a bit, wudnt it?

    Thank u po.

    • rightyritch said,

      hi,
      i suggest cut down on snacks (chips and the like), softdrinks/iced tea, dessert… focus on fruits and vegetables
      also, get into sports…. go to gym.. try yoga… find something that will capture your interest
      ako kasi, i didnt enjoy going to the gym so i focused on yoga and badminton – which i learned to love 🙂
      good luck
      let me know about your progress! 🙂

      • N.M said,

        ah, i do basketball and badminton 1x a week(play for school) and gym every friday (just started) but u think it wud be alrite if i do that GM diet plan thingy?

        Thank u!

      • rightyritch said,

        i think so…. try it 🙂

  7. Louie Vergara said,

    I’ll tell David to try this… as in FORCE HIM!!!! 40 pounds in less than 3 mos? not bad pa ren ah?!! so after losing all those weight, what do you eat na after? I will defintely try this myself afer giving birth, plus i’ll go back to the gym so it’s easier to lose.

    • rightyritch said,

      yes try it go! highly recommended! balitaan mo ko.
      now maintenance. i still dont eat rice. konti food intake ko. i still avoid softdrinks, iced tea, snacks.. paminsan minsan lang para naman not to totally deprive myself
      good luck!
      kwentuhan mo ko 🙂

  8. Louie Vergara said,

    comment on the pics– , weght loss ba or you’re just showing off the background?nasa ibang bansa ka naman???!!! ahahhaha! Where is this nga?But you really lost weght here nga. Galing! Congratulations!

    • rightyritch said,

      hahahaha weight loss.. showing off my new body hahaha
      pero sa Macau yung mataba na pic ko hihi

  9. carol said,

    OMG! Comparing your before and after pics–the results are amazing. Hmmm, masubukan nga ito. Haha. Kaya lang I would have to think of another “reward” instead of Boy Bawang. Congratulations, Ritchie.

    • rightyritch said,

      i know! hehehehe
      and just imagine pina-adjust ko lahat ng damit ko kasi sobrang luwag!
      from XL to medium size shirts
      from size 38 to size 34 waistline 🙂
      good luck!
      balitaan mo ko 🙂

  10. milkybar said,

    congrats on your weight loss!…well done! 🙂

    ask ko lang, when you say veggies all you want, is it like cooked veggies like chopseuy, pakbet, etc. or you eat just salads?

  11. Alexis said,

    Hi,

    tried the gm diet pero dku talga kaya. im not that heavy but im just trying to lose some extra weight. do you think if i cut down on rice and those stuff on your list, would i lose some kaya? im not in a hurry to lose basta may konting effectiveness lang na makita. =) thanks!!!

    • rightyritch said,

      yeah try cutting down on rice
      also on junk foods, softdrinks
      balitaan mo ko
      good luck!

  12. Alexis said,

    thanks! im on my second wk of no rice. tanggalin ko coke/iced tea and junk food. hope this works! il weigh at the end of the week! il let you know =)

  13. robie de guia said,

    inspiring sir!!! ako i lost 60lbs in 6 months, but i gained 30 back during the last three months. i intend to lose them again this year.

    keep on fighting!!! aZA!!!!

    • rightyritch said,

      wow 60lbs! galing.. maintain maintain
      ano ginawa mo? show pix!
      good luck!

  14. Jamii said,

    hello po. would coffee affect this diet in anyway? kasi i really want to lose weight pero i want to enjoy coffee too. sori ha, im kind of a coffee addict pero hindi everyday, minsan lang…mga 3x a week.

    • rightyritch said,

      well i guess okay lang ang coffee
      pero if you follow general motor’s diet, you really have to stick only to what was mentioned 🙂
      good luck
      balitaan mo kami!

  15. Jamii said,

    i kept rereading ur blog kasi, in a short time u manage to lose 40lb. thats really amazing! but for the fourth day of the 2nd week, in total, u ate 8 bananas and 3 glasses of milk only?

    • rightyritch said,

      yes.. yun ang nakalagay sa GM diet.. hirap na hirap ako nung day na yun haha.. pero i was able to go through that day whew!

  16. jen said,

    that GM diet didn’t come from GM at all! its a diet plan ive been doing years ago pa. Ang tawag diyan 7 day diet or the Cabbage Soup Diet. ay naku walang originality yang dieititian ng GM! pero patok ang diet na yan at talagang you lose 10 lbs or more pa pero yung effect makikita after 3-4 days pa after you end the diet. to make it more effective, after doing the diet for a week, skip a week to rest your body, then do it again.

  17. anrol said,

    this is so encouraging 🙂 will try this – sana lang maging successful din ako :-))

  18. daryl said,

    wow.. i had been searching for a great diet regimen… buti nlng nakita ko ito sa femalenetwork… i will definitely try this one… i will go back to the gym… even im not into fruits basta kakayanin ko ito i need to lose weight para to gain back confidence.. thanks…

    • rightyritch said,

      go try it!
      i’m not into fruits (and vegetables too!) as well
      pero you’ll learn to like it 🙂
      sanayan lang
      good luck and keep us posted!

  19. ayie said,

    I almost did all “the diet thing” in your list but I still in my same weight, My targer weight lost is 10lbs only, I alomost did this in 2months! I have also my activies like boxing and aerobics almost everyday, pls help me.tnx

    • rightyritch said,

      ay i dont know hehehe
      maybe you can try doing other styles of diet
      and for what is that.. i dont know
      experiment
      thanks

Leave a Reply

